Insurance and Points

It's crucial to drive as safely as you can in order to protect yourself, your passengers and your fellow drivers. But did you know that safe driving can also protect your wallet, too?

North Carolina's Safe Driving Incentive Plan (SDIP) was created in 1957 to give North Carolina drivers a financial incentive to drive safely on our state's roads. Since the inception of the SDIP, automobile insurance companies have been allowed to charge higher premiums - up to 400% higher - for drivers who have violated traffic laws by practicing unsafe driving habits such as speeding, following too closely (tailgating), passing a stopped school bus or driving while impaired. Points against a driver's record increases the cost of insurance.

Points % of Rate Increase Cost if Basic Rate is $1,000
1 25% $1,250
2 45% $1,450
3 60% $1,600
4 80% $1,800
5 105% $2,050
6 130% $2,300
7 160% $2,600
8 190% $2,900
9 225% $3,250
10 260% $3,600
11 300% $4,000
12 340% $4,400

 

SDIP Points Convictions and At-Fault Accidents
12
  • Prearranged highway racing or lending a car for prearranged highway racing
  • Hit-and-run resulting in bodily injury or death
  • Driving with a blood-alcohol level of .08 or more
  • Driving commercial vehicle with a blood-alcohol level of .04 or more
  • Driving while impaired
  • Transporting illegal intoxicating liquor for sale
10
  • Highway racing or lending a car for highway racing
  • Speeding to elude arrest
8
  • Driving during revocation or suspension of license or registration
  • Aggressive driving
4
  • Reckless driving
  • Hit-and-run resulting in property damage only
  • Passing a stopping school bus
  • Speeding in excess of 75 mph when the speed limit is less than 70 mph
  • Speeding in excess of 80 mph when the speed limit is 70 mph or greater
  • Driving by a person less than age 21 after consuming alcohol or drugs
3
  • At-fault accident that occurs before Jan. 1, 2004 resulting in death, or bodily injury in excess of $1,500 or property damage or $2,500 or more
  • At-fault accident on or after Jan. 1 2004, resulting in death, or bodily injury in excess of $1,800 or property damage or $3,000 or more
2
  • Illegal passing
  • Following too closely
  • Driving on wrong side of the road
  • At-fault accident that occurs before Jan. 1, 2004, resulting in property damage in excess of $1,500, but less than $2,500
  • At-fault accident that occurs on or after Jan. 1 2004 resulting in property damage in excess of $1,800, but less than $3,000
  • Speeding more than 10 mph over the speed limit provided the total speed is in excess of 55 mph, but less than 76 mph
  • Speeding 10 mph or less in excess of speed zone of 55 mph or greater
1
  • All other moving violations
  • At-fault accident that occurs before Jan. 1 2004 resulting in bodily injury of $1,500 or less or property damage of $1,500 or less
  • At-fault accident that occurs on or after Jan. 1 2004 resulting in bodily injury of $1,800 or less or property damage of $1,800 or less
  • Speeding 10 mph or less in excess of the speed limit of less than 55 mph